TV Manager 2 – Update 1.2.2

I have updated TV Manager 2 to beta version 1.2.2.

For about a week there has been a problem with the installation of the demoversion. This has been fixed now and a new demoversion has been uploaded.

All fullversions have been updated.

Anything you would like have changed or improved? Is the game too easy? Too difficult? Just right?

Please support us and buy TV Manager 2: http://www.nielsbauergames.com

You can download a patch here:

http://nbsd.fileburst.com/TVManager2Patch.zip

(Please unzip / unpack the file above to the directory where you installed TV Manager 2. Usually something like: c:\Program Files\TV Manager 2)

10 Responses to “TV Manager 2 – Update 1.2.2”

  1. Xkd Says:

    I don’t know much if i will buy this game but something says to me to buy it, anyways i have some questions about it like as follows:

    1:You can make movies and manage TV programs?

    2:There are PC competitors and audience?

    3:Can i buy movies and put program hours?

    Well i think that its only this and i’m looking foward to get this as soon as i can.

    Also i’m new to this forum and don’t know if that are the correct location to put my comment.Also my english isnt very good and sorry if there are any gramatical errors.

  2. Jeb Says:

    I think you were right on the money. The game is just right. I love challenging games. I wouldn’t mind if you made it more difficult, but that’s how I am with every strategy game. If I were you, I definitely wouldn’t consider making it any easier. You’ve done a great job at balancing the difficulty, so kudos to you!

    • Niels Bauer Says:

      Thanks Jeb. 🙂

      • Jeb Says:

        You’re welcome. I really do enjoy the game, and I am so glad we have competitors now. That’s what really makes the game enjoyable to me. The more challenging the competition, the more fun the game. It’s great being the underdog and trying to handle your finances while working your way up. When you’re playing catchup, you’re forced to think very closely about the quality of your programming, lead-ins, time slots, etc. If the game were too easy, I don’t think we would have thought nearly as strategically, and that would have sucked all the complexity out it. When you have a game that is challenging enough to force you to take advantage of its complexity, you have a great game. This sure as heck beats those $50 games that look great but have zero substance.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    A few thoughts:

    1. The interface for buying movies and ads is not good enough, imho. Most of the time I spent in the demo game was while selecting ads. For example, if I know that I don’t have any spots where I have >20 million viewers, I don’t want to inspect those.

    Comparing ads now is a huge pain. I want too see them all at once and sort them on different criteria.

    2. Setting up a schedule is a pain. Drag and drop over and over 10 times is not very fun, especially when the target area is so small (maybe not a problem on low resolutions?).

    I suggest three improvements:

    Allow me to “pick up” an ad and place it in several slots.

    Increase target size for ads to include the regular schedule time area (and thus also clearly show which one it’ll be showing for).

    Keyboard control. I don’t have any software for blind people, so this may not be right, but drag and drop seems like a particular bad solution for them. Anyway, even as a seeing person, I strongly dislike having to drag and drop. Maybe when you have selected an ad/movie, you can put it in its spot by pressing keys 1-0?

    So for me, it’s too much pain to have fun.

    (Also, no forum sucks)

    • Niels Bauer Says:

      1. I think most time of the game is spend on the TV program table managing and setting up the TV programme. Normally you will only get one or two ad contracts and work the next days on fulfilling them. If you have a lot more ad contracts you will waste advertisement impressions when those unfulfilled contracts run out. On the screen where you can acquire ad contracts (ad agency) there are some ads listed, which are beyond your current capabilities. This is the case to give you an idea of what is to come later in the game.

      2. Well, creating a TV program is the core element of the game. Some did ask me to add 24 spots…
      Series and news spots (and the corresponding ads) are not deleted every day, so if you include those (which is a requirement for a sucessful game anyway) you will not have to drag and drop 10 times. Also if you use some 2 and 3 hour movie blocks you will hardly drag & drop more than 3 times. What is true though is that dragging & dropping ads might result in a bit more dragging & dropping. I am going to include something this weekend to make this easier.

      Now on to your suggestions:

      “Allow me to “pick up” an ad and place it in several slots.”

      Yeah, propably what I’ll include this weekend. It´s just that it wouldn´t be the best idea, because using the diversity of the different audience will bring you more money in the game. You did notice that specialized ads bring more money? So it´s only 10 times dragging & dropping if you want to ignore that. Still I got your point.

      “Increase target size for ads to include the regular schedule time area (and thus also clearly show which one it’ll be showing for).”

      That´s already included. You can drag and drop an ad on the specific ad field or on the corresponding movie spot. The ad spots are placed below the corresponding movie spots. I don´t know how to make this more obvious?

      “Keyboard control. I don’t have any software for blind people, so this may not be right, but drag and drop seems like a particular bad solution for them. Anyway, even as a seeing person, I strongly dislike having to drag and drop. Maybe when you have selected an ad/movie, you can put it in its spot by pressing keys 1-0?”

      The blind people have software that allows drag & dropping. Still I might include your suggestion this weekend.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I only want to select one or two ads, but it’s too hard to find which ones are best. I think it’s fine to have the ads for later in the game there too.

    The problem is that comparing three or four relatively similar advertisements is very difficult. If I were to play the game as it is, I would have to write down the interesting ads on paper. For example, (#10: 10 mill, 12 impressions, $398, 3 days) vs. (#7: 10 mill, 16 impr, $532, 3 days) vs. (#5: 8 mill adults, 12 impressions, $909, 4 days).

    Maybe it would be easier to compare the ads if the info was written on the back covers. I’d strongly prefer a sortable list, though.

    > That´s already included. You can drag and drop an ad on the specific ad field or on the corresponding movie spot. The ad spots are placed below the corresponding movie spots. I don´t know how to make this more obvious?

    Oh, I didn’t notice. I think highlighting would be fine, like a yellow box around them both, and no area in the middle where you can’t drop it. Huge drop targets are good!

    That’s another somewhat common problem for me, dropping stuff between grid lines on the buy movie/ad screen. Not a big problem, but it’s frustrating to have to look through the list of ads one more time.

    I’d like to just select it and click buy instead.

    > Well, creating a TV program is the core element of the game.

    Yes, and that part is great. The problem for me is that you require so many repetitive and precise mouse movements needed for simple stuff like scheduling an ad for the entire day. It’s not a big problem for movies, for the reasons you state.

    I actually only buy series so I don’t have to spend so much time comparing movies every day. I only buy movies if I don’t have any suitable series.

    Again, a sortable list would make it easy to buy stuff I’m looking for.

    • Niels Bauer Says:

      Would it maybe be a solution to require ads to be broadcasted in a row/block of let´s say 3? So like movies you drag & drop always 3 block ads?

      • Anonymous Says:

        I found that often I had shows with high ratings mixed up with shows with low ratings, like news, so I liked being in full control of those. If you’re looking for ease of implementation, maybe ctrl-click on an ad in the “library” fills up all unused spots, and ctrl-clicking on a placed ad puts it in the trash. I think that could make it quite quick to schedule them.

        Though like I said in the first comment, the majority of my time was spent comparing/picking ads, not placing them.

Leave a Reply

